Messepark Bern AG Report

In February of the 2019 financial year, the BERNEXPO GROUPE and HRS Real Estate Ltd. signed a letter of intent to further develop the existing infrastructure of Messepark Bern AG and in particular to implement the new BeMotion Base multifunctional hall.

The infrastructure of Messepark Bern AG was subsequently analysed by external experts within the scope of a comprehensive due diligence assessment. At the same time, the BERNEXPO GROUPE worked with HRS Real Estate Ltd. to validate concepts for future use of the exhibition area and develop a suitable participation structure for Messepark Bern AG. The overall project of the new multifunctional hall is on track and is to be implemented in cooperation with new shareholders. In accordance with this, the development regulation relating to the new multifunctional hall was further revised last year and the file was submitted to the Office for Municipalities and Spatial Planning (Amt für Gemeinden und Raumordnung, AGR) for final preliminary examination. The development regulation will be made available for public inspection at the beginning of April 2020. The related informational events planned in the affected neighbourhood will be held depending on what is happening with the coronavirus.

Talks are currently being held with potential shareholders in Messepark Bern AG with the goal of closing the transaction in summer 2020. The transaction model provides for sale of shares, with the BERNEXPO GROUPE remaining a minority shareholder of Messepark Bern AG. The number of shareholders will be kept small and none of the new owners will have a majority stake in Messepark Bern AG. Part of the transaction will include a 20-year lease agreement with BERNEXPO AG for the entire exhibition area.

Last year, the necessary maintenance and repair work was again carried out on the existing properties. As a result, festivals and events of the BERNEXPO GROUPE could once again be hosted smoothly, trouble-free and to the satisfaction of the customers. As usual, the work was carried out efficiently and carefully by the responsible persons and contracted companies.

 

Business trend

Messepark Bern AG closed the 2019 financial year with a profit that was slightly higher than in the previous year. The lower operating income was offset by a reduction in the operating and financing expenses.

Operating income fell by CHF 0.6 million to CHF 7.2 million in the reporting year, as the result-dependent rental component decreased due the drop in the BERNEXPO AG result. Operating expenses decreased by CHF 0.3 million to CHF 1.6 million compared to the previous year due to lower maintenance costs and administrative expenses.

EBITDA (earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortisation) for the 2019 reporting year is CHF 5.6 million, CHF 0.3 million below the previous year’s result. After depreciation and amortisation in the amount of CHF 5.1 million (as in the previous year), EBIT (earnings before interest and taxes) amounts to CHF 0.5 million, CHF 0.3 million lower than in the previous year. Continuous amortisation of mortgage debt and a goodwill discount received on interest payments led to a reduction in financial expenses of CHF 0.4 million to CHF 0.3 million compared to the previous year. After a tax burden of CHF 0.1 million is taken into account, annual earnings are positive at CHF 0.1 million.

At the end of December 2019, cash and cash equivalents amounted to CHF 1.0 million, a decrease of CHF 4.1 million compared to the previous year. This is due to the fact that there was a large credit balance open on the current account with BERNEXPO AG in the amount of approximately CHF 4.6 million, which will be balanced in the new financial year and, in addition to the financing of planned investments, will primarily be used to pay off mortgage debts (CHF 3.1 million). With an equity ratio of 78.2% (+5.2% compared with the previous year), Messepark Bern AG has a very healthy balance sheet.

 

Outlook

In the coming financial year, the task will be to prepare the groundwork for successfully coordinating the necessary loans and the development regulation for the new hall, and to define the structure of Messepark Bern AG in such a way that the BERNEXPO GROUPE has the best possible conditions for its strategic development with a focus on its core business. This also includes the detailed planning for the multifunctional hall. As part of the transaction, all existing building rights agreements with the Burgergemeinde and the city of Bern are to be renegotiated and extended.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, I would like to take this opportunity to thank all stakeholders and partners who are committed to the maintenance and further development of Messepark Bern AG.

 

Jürg Stöckli

Chair of the Board of Directors

Back

Bericht Messepark Bern AG

Um die Weiterentwicklung der bestehenden Infrastruktur der Messepark Bern AG und insbesondere die Realisierung der neuen Multifunktionshalle BeMotion Base voranzutreiben, haben die BERNEXPO GROUPE und die HRS Real Estate AG im Februar des vergangenen Geschäftsjahrs 2019 eine entsprechende Absichtserklärung unterzeichnet.

Die Infrastruktur der Messepark Bern AG wurde in der Folge im Rahmen einer umfassenden Due-Diligence-Prüfung durch externe Experten analysiert. Parallel dazu hat die BERNEXPO GROUPE mit der HRS Real Estate AG künftige Nutzungskonzepte des Messeareals validiert und eine zweckmässige Beteiligungsstruktur für die Messepark Bern AG entwickelt. Das Gesamtprojekt der neuen Multifunktionshalle ist auf Kurs und soll in partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit mit neuen Aktionären realisiert werden. Entsprechend wurde die Überbauungsordnung bezüglich der neuen Multifunktionshalle im vergangenen Jahr weiter überarbeitet und das Dossier zur abschliessenden Vorprüfung dem Amt für Gemeinden und Raumordnung übergeben. Die öffentliche Auflage der Überbauungsordnung erfolgt Anfang April 2020. Die in diesem Rahmen geplanten Informationsveranstaltungen im betroffenen Quartier werden abhängig vom Verlauf der Coronakrise durchgeführt.

Aktuell sind Gespräche mit potenziellen Aktionären für die Messepark Bern AG im Gange. Das Ziel ist, die Transaktion im Sommer 2020 abzuschliessen. Das Transaktionsmodell sieht einen Aktienverkauf vor, wobei die BERNEXPO GROUPE Minderheitsaktionärin der Messepark Bern AG bleibt. Der Kreis der Aktionäre wird klein gehalten und keiner der neuen Eigentümer wird eine Mehrheit an der Messepark Bern AG besitzen. Im Zuge der Transaktion wird mit der BERNEXPO AG ein 20-jähriger Mietvertrag für das gesamte Messeareal abgeschlossen.

Auch im vergangenen Jahr wurden an den bestehenden Liegenschaften die notwendigen Unterhalts- und Instandsetzungsarbeiten durchgeführt. Dadurch konnten die Veranstaltungen und Events der BERNEXPO GROUPE einmal mehr reibungslos, störungsfrei und zur Zufriedenheit der Kundschaft durchgeführt werden. Die Arbeiten wurden durch die verantwortlichen Personen und beauftragten Firmen wie gewohnt effizient und sorgfältig ausgeführt.

 

Geschäftsverlauf

Die Messepark Bern AG hat das Geschäftsjahr 2019 mit einem leicht höheren Gewinn als im Vorjahr abgeschlossen. Der tiefere Betriebsertrag konnte durch die Reduktion der Betriebs- und Finanzaufwände kompensiert werden.

Der Betriebsertrag hat sich im Berichtsjahr um CHF 0,6 Mio. auf CHF 7,2 Mio. reduziert, da der ergebnisabhängige Mietanteil durch das tiefere Ergebnis bei der BERNEXPO AG abgenommen hat. Der Betriebsaufwand hat im Vergleich zum Vorjahr wegen tieferer Unterhaltskosten und geringeren Verwaltungsaufwands um CHF 0,3 Mio. auf CHF 1,6 Mio. abgenommen.

Das EBITDA (Ergebnis vor Zinsen, Steuern und Abschreibungen) beträgt im Berichtsjahr 2019 CHF 5,6 Mio. und liegt damit um CHF 0,3 Mio. unter dem Vorjahresergebnis. Nach Abschreibungen in Höhe von CHF 5,1 Mio. (wie im Vorjahr) beträgt das EBIT (Ergebnis vor Zinsen und Steuern) CHF 0,5 Mio. und fällt damit um CHF 0,3 Mio. tiefer aus als noch im Vorjahr. Die kontinuierliche Amortisation der Hypothekarschulden und ein erhaltener Kulanzrabatt auf die Zinszahlungen führte dazu, dass der Finanzaufwand im Vergleich zum Vorjahr um CHF 0,4 Mio. auf CHF 0,3 Mio. gesunken ist. Nach Berücksichtigung einer Steuerlast von CHF 0,1 Mio. resultiert ein positives Jahresergebnis von CHF 0,1 Mio.

Die flüssigen Mittel betrugen per Ende Dezember 2019 CHF 1,0 Mio., was im Vergleich zum Vorjahr einer Abnahme von CHF 4,1 Mio. entspricht. Dies ist auf den Umstand zurückzuführen, dass ein grösseres Guthaben auf dem Kontokorrentkonto mit der BERNEXPO AG in der Höhe von rund CHF 4,6 Mio. offen war, welches im neuen Geschäftsjahr ausgeglichen und neben der Finanzierung von geplanten Investitionen hauptsächlich für die Amortisation der Hypothekarschulden (CHF 3,1 Mio.) verwendet wird. Mit einer Eigenkapitalquote von 78,2% (+5,2 Prozentpunkte im Vergleich zum Vorjahr) verfügt die Messepark Bern AG über eine sehr gesunde Bilanz.

 

Ausblick

Für das anstehende Geschäftsjahr gilt es, die Vorbereitung der Grundlagen für eine erfolgreiche Abstimmung der erforderlichen Kredite und der Überbauungsordnung für die neue Halle zu erarbeiten sowie die Struktur der Messepark Bern AG so zu definieren, dass die BERNEXPO GROUPE die bestmöglichen Voraussetzungen für ihre strategische Weiterentwicklung mit Fokus auf das Kerngeschäft erhält. Dazu gehört auch die Detailplanung der Multifunktionshalle. Im Rahmen der Transaktion sollen sämtliche bestehenden Baurechtsverträge mit der Burgergemeinde und der Stadt Bern neu verhandelt und verlängert werden.

Im Namen des Verwaltungsrates bedanke ich mich bei dieser Gelegenheit bei allen Beteiligten und Partnern, die sich für den Unterhalt und die Weiterentwicklung der Messepark Bern AG engagieren.  

 

Jürg Stöckli

Präsident des Verwaltungsrates

Zurück